Our mission is to build a passion in our community for nature and the environment through education, experience and action.

10 Woodside Lane Westport, CT 06880   203-557-4400 Earthplace Nursery School: 203-557-3638

Staff

Earthplace Welcomes Dr. Sarah Crosby as the new Director of Harbor Watch

February 18, 2015 
Earthplace, the Nature Discovery and Environmental Learning Center, announces the appointment of Sarah Crosby, Ph.D. as the new Director of Harbor Watch, the renowned water quality monitoring and research program.  Crosby succeeds Dick Harris, founder and longtime director of the Harbor Watch program who recently retired after 26 years at the helm.  Crosby is a marine ecologist with training in conservation science and extensive research experience with coastal and marine ecosystems.  
 “I can’t replace an icon like Dick Harris,” said Crosby, “but I can stand on his shoulders and advance a program with a strong foundation of community goodwill, credible research and actionable data.”

Crosby received a BA in Biology from Tufts University and a M.Sc. in Biological Oceanography from the University of Rhode Island (URI). After finishing her Master’s Degree, she later completed a PhD program in Ecology and Evolutionary Biology at Brown University.  While at URI, her research highlighted a salt marsh that was under consideration for restoration, and she focused on the marsh fish community and the human impact on the landscape.  Crosby’s doctoral research investigated the resilience of coastal ecosystems to both human and climatic impacts. In this work, she collaborated with scientists, practitioners, and community members along the East Coast at field sites that spanned from Massachusetts to South Carolina.  In her research, she led large teams of scientists, students, and volunteers in fieldwork. 

Tony McDowell, Executive Director of Earthplace noted:  “Sarah stood out from a talented group of candidates.  Both Dick and I are confident that her experience in team leadership, watershed knowledge, and a passion for meaningful fieldwork will accelerate our Harbor Watch mission.” 

Crosby has a demonstrated record of success in fundraising and grant management, both through prior work experience in development and having been awarded grants for her research from multiple government agencies and private foundations.

“I thoroughly enjoyed my overlap time at Earthplace with Dick Harris and I thank him for his commitment to a smooth transition,” said Crosby.  “His dedication to the Harbor Watch mission positions us well for the future and is an inspiration that will propel us forward.”

Dr. Crosby has also enjoyed the opportunity to serve as a member of the alumni council for the maritime studies program at Mystic Seaport for the past five years. Sarah grew up locally and is excited to be back in Fairfield County where she now lives in Riverside with her husband, Alex, and her dog, Daisy.

The mission of the Harbor Watch program is to provide the people of Connecticut with the data, knowledge, and field expertise needed to ensure clean water in their streams, lakes, rivers, and harbors; educate communities about watershed issues; and train volunteers and student interns through hands-on research.  This complements the Earthplace mission and vision of a sustainable future for our community and watershed.  


 

Staff List
Name Title         Email Extension
Nikki Cantatore Harbor Watch Lab Director    n.cantatore@earthplace.org 110
Josh Cooper Harbor Watch Lab Director   j.cooper@earthplace.org 120
Sara Cronquist Community Engagement Manager   s.cronquist@earthplace.org 101
Sarah Crosby Director of Harbor Watch   s.crosby@earthplace.org 121
Sarah Ferrante Marketing and Communications Manager   s.ferrante@earthplace.org 109
Peter Fraboni Harbor Watch Associate Director   p.fraboni@earthplace.org 110
Anna Henry Director of Administration and Finance    a.henry@earthplace.org 108 
Amee Borys Associate Director & Nursery School Director   a.borys@earthplace.org 114 
Tony McDowell Executive Director    t.mcdowell@earthplace.org 102 
Becky Newman Programs Director & Senior Naturalist   b.newman@earthplace.org 107 
Joan Richardson Publicity Coordinator   j.richardson@earthplace.org  
Veronica Swain Naturalist Educator   v.swain@earthplace.org 105
Faith Taylor  Development & Donor Stewardship Associate    f.taylor@earthplace.org 109
Shannon Wheeler  Animal Care Technician    s.wheeler@earthplace.org  122
Nursery School Teachers